To Pay or Not to Pay? I Say “Not” … Would You Pay For a Job?

LBLI’ve seen a recent trend in job-seekers paying search firms and/or recruiters for job-placement and even job fair attendance.

Although it’s an “employers market”, I strongly advise against paying for placement.

In my 13+ years as a Recruiter (Agency, Executive & Corporate) and Business Development Manager, none of my “competitors” or peers has charged fees to job-seekers. The most reputable search firms, placement agencies and recruiters charge the company, not the job-seeker.

“Paying for placement” and/or job fair attendance is an unwelcome fad, resulting from a poor economy. In my opinion, it shouldn’t become the “norm”.

What are your thoughts on this topic?

I recently read and highly recommend the book: “Laid Off, Laid Low; Political and Economic Consequences of Employment Insecurity. Available at Amazon.com

Happy Networking!

Terry
Job Spot Seattle
“I’m Tweeting Jobs & Resume’s” – Tweet with me!
Job Spot Seattle; “Seattle’s Online Job Network Since 2005”
Job Spot Website
Job Spot Blog
Job Spot on LinkedIn

This question is also posted on LinkedIn Questions

One response to “To Pay or Not to Pay? I Say “Not” … Would You Pay For a Job?

  1. Wow; Great correlation! I’m impressed by your writing; You’re so active on your LinkedIn groups, blogs and websites, yet all the topics are on-point! Are you interested in guest-blogging opportunities? Your content fits right in with our other topics. Hit me back; I sent you an e-mail and pinged you on Twitter. Elise

Leave a Reply

