Oh, Social Media! LinkedIn Network, Now “Followers”

Copy Cats (my cat)


Did I miss the memo? I must have, because my Linkedin “network”  has changed to “followers”.  I noticed today, while scrolling my groups “members” tab.

Maybe I just didn’t see it before, but I’m sure I would have.  It would have been nice to get a “heads-up” before changes were made.

At least Facebook hasn’t jumped on the “follower” bandwagon… I checked today; my “friends” are still “friends”… that’s a relief!

Don’t get me wrong, followers are fabulous! I’m a follower of many on Twitter; celebrities, social media moguls, stores, brands, sports teams, companies, and average people with random or entertaining tweets.

But Let’s Be Real: @ChrisPirillo @Ellen_Degeneres, @ChrisBrogan, @AplusK or @LadyGaga don’t consider me part of their “trusted, professional network” just because I’m one of thousands (and thousands) of followers.

That being said, my followers aren’t all a part of my “trusted, professional network”, but who cares… I’m not on Twitter to “build a professional network” … I’m on Twitter to “tweet”!

My LinkedIn Network is relationships developed over many years; a trusted network, built from in-person, and/or mutually professional interactions.  In my opinion, the term “followers” dilutes the value of a professional network, something LinkedIn built its brand on.

About.com ‘s Definition of Followers: “Followers are the people who have agreed to receive your Tweets through Twitter. If you add someone else to the list of people you read, you “follow” them. Popularity on Twitter is often measured by the number of followers a person has.”

Is LinkedIn about Popularity? I think not. I don’t wantpopularity” on LinkedIn; I want to be a valuable and respected networking resource for my connections.

Like Twitter, Linkedin has its place; I use both for different reasons.  It’s pointless (and confusing) that Linkedin adopted a term that makes Twitter uniquely appealing to its users.

That’s just me, anyone else care to chime in?

Happy Networking!

Terry

Tweet Jobs & Social Media w/Terry

My LinkedIn Profile

5 responses to “Oh, Social Media! LinkedIn Network, Now “Followers”

  1. Hey Terry – Nice post. I don’t agree with the “Follower” menatlity. I think LinkedIn is great but recently has been feeling pressure that they need to be more cool.

    Love the blog btw.

  2. I couldn’t agree more! Twitter is for fast connections, quick updates, networking growing, and LinkedIn is for professional development, and solid connections. Facebook is for friends!

  3. Cool blog & Cute cat! I’m following you on Twitter, anxious for your next post. Kelly

Leave a Reply

