Yoga + Social Media = Balance … Work-Life Balance

"OM"

I just finished my daily yoga practice as I’ve done for 13 years.

If you haven’t tried yoga because you think its for “tree-huggers” or really flexible vegetarians, think again.

Yoga, is something most people can do.  You don’t have to strike a King Dancer Pose (shown in my photo) or even touch your toes.


Doing basic yoga works fine! For a list of beginning poses, click the Yoga Journal link at post end.

I’ve considered a yoga blog, but didn’t start one because its not my social media focus.

Though I won’t start a yoga blog, I’ll continue yoga because it balances my life.

That brings me to my post topic.  “Work-Life Balance”

The phrase “work-life balance” is used frequently in the corporate world.
However, many people in corporate jobs don’t practice it.   Check out this Scribed.com link for a recent study and its findings.

So, what IS balance… really?

Princeton’s Wordnetweb.com, defines balance as:

1.  State of equilibrium.
2.  Equality between the totals of the credit and debit sides of an account (work & life)
3.  Proportion: harmonious arrangement or relation of parts or elements within a whole (ie, design).
4.  Equality of distribution
5.  Remainder: something left after other parts have been taken away.

Work-life balance isn’t spending all your time at work. Its doing things you enjoy while still having time for loved ones and your job responsibilities.

Doing things you enjoy takes discipline, but it gives you energy for your other responsibilities.  Maintaining energy, requires rest and nourishment of your mind and body.

ScienceDaily.com released an article on work-life balance, detailing the importance of brain cell rest. To read the science behind work-life balance, click here for the article.

You can achieve balance on your terms… it doesn’t have to be yoga.

In addition to yoga, I paint, ski, take photographs, spend time in nature or have coffee and a walk with friends.

Those things bring joy to my life… that’s my balance.

Whatever you choose, I hope it brings you joy and balance in life.

As Always, Happy Networking!


Related links:

Leave a Reply

